ARC

The Widow Next Door by by L.A. Detwiler

Description

A beautiful house. A new beginning. The almost perfect neighbours…

When newlyweds Jane and Alex Clarke move into an idyllic house on the quaint Bristol Lane, they are excited for a new beginning in what will be their ‘forever home’.

And when an elderly neighbour brings them a pie to welcome them, she soon becomes a friend. But she grows a little too interested in the couple next door as she sits watching them, day in, day out, from the rocking chair in her window.

Alex says it will be fine. After all, she’s a lonely widow who just wants some company. But when she invites Jane into her home, who knows what she’ll find there…

A dark and gripping domestic thriller, perfect for fans of Shari Lapena and Paula Hawkins.

My Review

I can’t say I’m a huge fan of this one, but it is the first thriller L.A. Detwiler has written so it deserves a chance.

The story itself had a good plot but the chapters seems to drone on and on without much happening aside from a few twists. Having being told from the Widow’s point of view, you never really get a good sense for her neighbors, the objects of her thoughts, Alex and Jane. Therefore, it’s hard to connect with them so there’s a lack of attachment to them which makes it hard to really care what’s real and what’s not.

Had it been a little faster paced, and left out the mundane details that had no reason for being there, I think this would be one hell of a book!