ARC

Call Me Evie by JP Pomare – #BOOKREVIEW @JPPomare

Thank you Netgalley, JP Pomare, and PENGUIN GROUP Putnam for this advanced copy! The cover had me hooked, and the description reminded me of a movie and had me instantly wanting to read it.

Held in captivity for her own protection Kate shares her story from two timeframes, one in which she may not actually be safe, where she’s more prisoner than captive. But who is Kate really? This you’ll learn from her recounting the past that she doesn’t entirely remember.

I was kept guessing because I wasn’t sure if I was right, although my intuition proved to be true I still thumbed through the pages voraciously to find out!

This is the first novel from JP Pomare and I can’t wait to see what’s next! You can start reading this now; Release Date was March 5th, 3019.

Description

In this propulsive, twist-filled, and haunting psychological suspense debut perfect for fans of Sharp Objects and Room, a seventeen-year-old girl struggles to remember the role she played on the night her life changed forever.

For the past two weeks, seventeen-year-old Kate Bennet has lived against her will in an isolated cabin in a remote beach town–brought there by a mysterious man named Bill. Part captor, part benefactor, Bill calls her Evie and tells her he’s hiding her to protect her. That she did something terrible one night back home in Melbourne–something so unspeakable that he had no choice but to take her away. The trouble is, Kate can’t remember the night in question. 

The fragments of Kate’s shattered memories of her old life seem happy: good friends, a big house in the suburbs, a devoted boyfriend. Bill says he’ll help her fill in the blanks–but his story isn’t adding up. And as she tries to reconcile the girl she thought she’d been with the devastating consequences Bill claims she’s responsible for, Kate will unearth secrets about herself and those closest to her that could change everything. 

A riveting debut novel that fearlessly plumbs the darkest recesses of the mind, Call Me Evie explores the fragility of memory and the potential in all of us to hide the truth, even from ourselves.

Categories: ARC, Book Release

Tagged as: ,